I Forge Iron

Question for an essay

Hello, I am a High school student and I am doing a persuasive essay and I had a couple questions. 

1. what are the pros and cons of blacksmithing?
  2. what are the pros and cons of gas and coal forges?
  3. in your mind what is the pros and cons of the money put into the forges?

Thanks!

If you have not already read it, please READ THIS FIRST

IForgeIron is visited by over 150 countries of the world each month. A lot of your answers will depend on your location.

Blacksmithing is a craft where you can make most of the tools you will need. You can also make many of the tools for other crafts. You need to choose a fuel that is cheap and available locally to you, and build a forge to use that fuel.

To get started you only need a box of dirt (JABOD) and some solid fuel. An anvil can be anything you hit on, rocks, chunks of heavy metal etc. You do not put money into the forge unless you are making Mokume. 

I suggest that you locate a blacksmithing group or organization near you and go to the meetings. You will learn more in a few hours that you can ever imagine. You can actually try out blacksmithing first hand.

BLACKSMITH GROUPS FORUM

Ok well to start you would have to understand a few things about the metalworking process itself. Not counting those who work with mild steels a smith will usually heat the steel to cause a transformation in the grain structures, for blade steels usually austenite, and then soak the metal for a sufficient amount of time until the grains have grown to allow forging. There is plenty of videos of armature smiths using a torch to heat the steel and not maintaining phase transformations and then just hitting it, mild steel doesnt seem to care but for tool steels and high carbon steels this is a big no no, the steel requires heat and time to maintain a transformation.