I Forge Iron

Crucible Shattered

Hello,

I have looked around for about 30 min and could not find what I am looking, so here is my first actual post. 

I bought a clay graphite crucible online. When I received it I put it over a open flame for 30 min to cure it and take any moisture out of it. I read this is what I needed to do. So 2 days later I fire up the foundry and like 7 seconds later I her a loud pop and a couple of others. So I turned the foundry off and opened it to find my crucible shattered. I've included pictures. 

I emptied my foundry and cut a butane bottle off a butane torch in half and used it. It was bright red after like 2 min. I started putting cans in right after that, and made some ingot. After two heat cycles the tank was too soft and made the top too narrow too fit cans in. 

So here is my question what did I do wrong/Right? Should I buy another clay graphite crucible? 

I'm just a beginner and would love a simple to maintain crucible that is not likely to get heat shocked. I have 3 inch square tube with the walls about 1/2 inch thick, should I use that as a crucible?

B4544926-B2A2-44AD-9781-3F80D6AFE174.jpeg

719C5228-D965-4B59-8082-F0804D72A3CB.jpeg

4C1BEA4C-E065-495C-9570-4C381CC6CE0D.jpeg

BBB0A708-A776-4BD1-BD82-FFACC8F13C87.jpeg

First; may I commend to your attention: alloyavenue.com a series of forums dedicated to metal casting (used to be backyard metal casting .com)

Second; as mentioned, why melt Al cans?  They are not a good alloy to cast and they generally give you less money for them if you sell them as scrap that way as they can't be sure of the alloy anymore.  To get alloys that are good for casting find items that were cast from Al!

I was using cans just to learn and try my foundry out at first. I will be getting better aluminum. 

Did I do something wrong with that clay crucible? 

Thank for your advice.