I Forge Iron

Normalise leaf spring before forging or not?

Afternoon.  I picked up a complete set of L200 leaf springs for a mere £10 today.  Should be enough to keep me going while I learn to make kitchen knives.

My question is, would you bother to normalise the steel before forging or just get on and bash it? 

I'm a newbie but I believe Normalize before heat treat. Look in to metallurgy. Normalizing helps the grain structure form properly and relieves stresses it the metal. Hopefully some one more experienced than me will chin in

First of all Normalizing is a heat treat process so that statement comes out as "I believe Heat Treat before Heat Treat".  If you mean hardening you need to say hardening as Heat Treat could be annealing...

Second, once you bring up most steels to forging temps; previous heat treat goes bye bye.  Leaf springs do not need normalizing before forging.  Some steels that are very stressed in their current form, it's suggested you preheat or heat slowly to avoid stressing it more before it "relaxes" as austenite.  

Welcome aboard Luke, glad to have you. If you'll put your general location in the header you might be surprised how many of the Iforge gang live within visiting distance. 

The short answer is No. Forging is done hotter than the temperature that would draw the temper completely out of the steel. It'd be like heating the soup before cooking it. Forge it HOT, when it starts fighting the hammer put it back in the fire.

Frosty The Lucky.

Hi Luke, we have a members day at Westpoint forge this Saturday if you would like to come along for a chat and meet some like minded people.

Its a mile and a bit away from the M5 Exeter services, enter by main gate, and turn right then pass the Devon Drivers Academy and we are the last building on that avenue.