I Forge Iron

Inscribing Letters

I was recently commissioned to forge a cross for one of my neighbors who had lost a close family member.  She asked if I could inscribe her initials on the piece and I've never done that before.   I tried carefully using chisels/punches to make the letters, I tried sketching them and then using a dremel to grind the letters, but everything I've done looks childish and not fit for the piece.  Does anyone have any suggestions on a good way to do this?  (photo is the completed cross, waiting for initials.)

Thanks all!

Lodestone

DSC_4420.JPG

With the rough texture of the steel, I don't think you'd go wrong with slightly rough lettering.  I do a lot of initials for the bowls I make and think the coarseness compliments the texture....

The letters and heart are all cut in with chisels, and the numbers are from a generic stamp set I bought on eBay.

IMG_4415.thumb.JPG.eea789c1e956a1f0a51d14f46e5cd9de.JPG

IMG_4556.thumb.jpg.876b5da2fe3e3ecc66814bc25f5f1c38.jpg

IMG_4690.thumb.JPG.9f5fb936c10bbd87c89f2e733c08cb6e.JPG

What I like best about "my" style is that it has a sense of substance and doesn't look somehow fabricated or mass produced.  The chisel work is deep and wide, with all the little idiosyncrasies you'd expect from hand work.  

Making the chisels is super simple as they aren't something exotic.  You likely already have most of them in the shop and just don't know it.  And, yes, the curved lines were made with a straight chisel.  Nothing fancy about it, just gotta get the order of operation right.  Once you establish the line.... it pretty much carves itself.

2 hours ago, JHCC said:

Actually, electrolytic etching could work nicely, using nail polish as a resist.

You can also use electrical tape to make a quick stencil. Tape the piece with electrical tape then tape on a print out of what you want to etch. Cut out where you want etched with an exacto blade and etch away.

14 minutes ago, lanternnate said: