I Forge Iron

Gloves ... i know ... please read ; )

Hello Guys and Gals,

Long Time no post for me, but I still check out all the awesome advice and posts!  

So, Life has changed for me recently, in that I am now a medical student at the Northern Ontario School Of Medicine, and as such, my hands need to look and stay healthier than in the past: patients don't want a doctor with blacksmith hands, and open sores are a no-no for surgery scrub in etc.

So, I am asking for advice on gloves:  I have always been a no glove for smithing guy unless hot punching etc to protect the tool hand from burn.  And before I went back to school I was able to keep my hand calluses up to a point where it took quite a lot to make a real mark -- Last time I went in the shop, I seemed to cut and scrape on everything as I have not done 'real' work in a few months -- white collar problems, sigh, I know ; )

I have Tig gloves and standard welding gloves - and they do those jobs well, but lack the dexterity needed for fine work and filling etc.  will obviously not wear anything flammable, so looking for options that are similar to golf or baseball gloves  (would these be my best options?).  Looking for something that I can put on when I enter the shop and not take off till I leave.

Amazon.ca is my main shopping centre, so any advice would be welcome.

The main role of the gloves would be to protect from the 'light' abrasions. burns, cuts and scrapes we all get when we come back to the shop after a hiatus. 

thanks for any and all advice : )

Jon

Tough balance to meet there.  I'd look into deerskin which the big company Wells Lamont has in it's standard line-up.  I find it more supple and thinner than some other hides.  It doesn't hold up as well as others may, though.  I had a pair with elk hide way back in the dark ages and those were really nice but I don't think they are readily available these days.