I Forge Iron

Picked Up A Plasma Cutter

b4utoo

Hypertherm Powermax 65..(used)..(with a ton of consumables)

Curious does anyone have a plasma cutter and what they use theirs for (forging / smithing related)

Was going to get a small basic one but was really cheap compared to others I have found. Bought within minutes of listing. So I jumped.

(I do need to upgrade to a 60 gallon air compressor now though to run it my smalled craftsman professional barely does the job)

It's in my sights one day...

Paid I think $1600 total...for Cutter & Consumables( All hypertherm) 

Going to sell alot of "junk" soon...maybe I can make room for it..

thumbnail_20160617_175038_resized.jpg

thumbnail_20160617_175007_resized.jpg

48 minutes ago, jmccustomknives said:

You got a very good plasma.  I've been selling plasmas for 20 years and in this current market the hypertherm is the best.  You got a big one too.  You might want to get a machine torch and table to take full advantage of the machine.

I need to learn how to use it properly first...thought I would mention this lol

I have a hypertherm 30 and for as small as it is it packs a lot of power. You did real good. 

My only advise is learn how to use guide bars when cutting something if you want it strait unless you have a real steady hand, which I don't. They make all kinds of guides with rollers and such for cutting different shapes. The ultimate  would be a CNc table. I used one at a duct metal shop I worked at and as long as you can use a computer you can cut anything.Thinner material you can run the top right on the metal. Thicket you want to pick it up about a 1/8 the of a inch. I am no means a pro I'm just going with experience with mine.

I've got a thermal dynamics cutmaster 39.  Best tool investment I made for our business.  That thing saved tons of man hours when we had to cut into house boat pontoons for repair and baffle work.  Paid for itself the first summer.