I Forge Iron

First forge, first post. forge not heating (Taking a long time)

MonkeyForge

Hi all,

I spent some time browsing this forum while I was already building my 2 brick forge and I'm really happy with how much information I could scrounge. I am not new to hot metal but I am new to the forging and hammering part. I'll include some pictures of my project below.

I am planning to use the the forge for small knifes/chisels or to make small part for small scissors/shears. Anything small and metal that needs heating :)

Now for my question: I do get a nice even heat on whatever I put in but it will not go any hotter than the picture below (as long as I ran it during my 2 test burns, say 15 minutes. see pictures) After pounding the stock with a hammer and researching the steel colours, I think I need to get my stock hotter. Could this be the torch I am using or the gas? I do get the same glow all over the chamber, also a nice hot spot. I know the 1300 degrees rating on the torch is for the flame itself and I am doubting on how much heat I need to get the entire chamber to warm up. Any help would be appreciated :)

Some info:

• Top halve is a half cylinder
  • Bottom half is rectangular, flat bottom
  • Back port is smaller than front
  • Burner is a soldering torch rated to 1300 degrees C (2372 Fahrenheit,  butane propane mixture though I think mostly butane)
  • Burner is angled to the front (larger) opening and into the arch of the ceiling
  • Glowing part of the stock in image is the entire length of what was in the chamber
  • Size of the brick is 23 x 11.4 x 6 x64 Cm ( 9.1 x 4.5 x 2.6")

IMG_20160206_200804.thumb.jpg.d6a14864b4IMG_20160206_200653(1).thumb.jpg.077d22eIMG_20160206_200636.thumb.jpg.4296bfb9d5IMG-20160206-WA0041.thumb.jpg.0b7a06ba20IMG-20160206-WA0043.thumb.jpeg.7ea42bcbfIMG-20160206-WA0040.thumb.jpg.7bf0eb8dfe

• Replies 72
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images