I Forge Iron

The 10 Trials of the Master Bladesmith

Shamus Blargostadt

Though they confuse being a master bladesmith with being rated a master in the ABS.

Not all master bladesmiths are members of the ABS; though I would agree that all members of the ABS rated as Master are master bladesmiths.

Edited by ThomasPowers

There are probably a couple of guys with a JS or MS rating that are ........how shall we say this? Never mind.

Undertaking the decision to get an ABS rating is a serious commitment. I have been contemplating it for a couple of years now. I think I have finally got to a point where I can meet not only the ABS standards for JS, but my own standards as well.

This is partially crap, like stating 300 folds to make pattern weld, anything is going to wash out any patterns even at 40 folds. they should really pay attention to what they are publishing. Wanting secrets is one thing, intentional misleading is wrong.  They take your money for a few years before even looking at your work? they are a bit full of themselves thinking only they can be Masters as a standard policy statement.   I have heard a few of them rant before,  attempting to discount non members work in order to boost their own from a local so called Master.  It is sad really. After the disappointing interview with the local ABS I decided its not a party I want to join Comrade.