I Forge Iron

Following up on a lead for smithing equipment

I've been talking around for several months in search for Blacksmithing equipment, probably a hundred or two people I've worried. You find some people who may have an anvil but no one with much stuff and most of it has some attachement to an old family member. A while back, a friend of mine I work with told me of an older fellow used to blacksmith. I had pretty much forgotten about it. He called me the other day and gave me directions to the older gentlemans house. Today I went by to see him. After introducing myself and my connection with our mutual friend he said "yea I have some stuff but I don't want to sell it." Mean while he's walking to his shop to open the door. We go into his shop and I'm expecting a few things but i was really suprised. He had probably six smithing stations set up with a forge, anvil and post vise, not to mention all the tongs, hammers, gas forges, four or five presses (home built and factory made).

He doesn't smith much anymore and he was right, wasn't interested in selling but he did ask for my phone number and invited me and my son out for some forging/teaching one day. Anyhow, I went home empty handed but I believe he really enjoyed talking, as I did, for an hour or so about his smithing and I may have made a friend and given him some good reason to fire it all up again.

Scott

Edited by scotto

Sounds great. Take advantage of the opportunity to learn while you can. You may find over time that if he's no longer able to use the stuff due to physical conditions or health, that he may be more inclined to sell it to you as he'll by then know you are interested in using the stuff vs simply trying to turn a quick buck. I've seen that quite often with older folk.