I Forge Iron

Bringing High-Tech to Blacksmithing

As a novice blacksmith, I've found the one fundamental skills that is not well explained - hammer technique and control. I've begun bringing my high-tech skills to bare on this problem and would like to merge what I know well and your experience to more fully understand the mechanics of the hammer strike.

The key principles for hammer control seem straight forward and have been explained by Frosty and others in ways that make sense. Don't grip too tight, involve your wrist and practice!

However, like most of you, I'm a scientist at heart and have a need to understand the mechanical details - I don't want to over analyze, but I do want to know more about the physics and kinesiology of the hammer strike.

Last night I built a rig with an accelerometer to sample forces at the anvil. It's very cool to see my hammer strikes recorded in G-force and in 3 dimensions... Just trying different hammer holds or applying different amounts of force reveals a wide variety of impact information. If I combine this information with video - and have input from experienced smiths, there's no telling how much we can all get (mostly us nube's) out of it.

Tech without guidance is just information. I can (and have) read a lot about Blacksmithing - but that doesn't compare to expetiencing it myself. So I'd like your ideas on how the information I'm collecting might be used with your knowledge and experience.

Thanks!

-DM

It would take an incredibly sophisticated "simulator" to begin to measure all the "nuance" that goes into skillful Hammer Control.

Quite often, you find yourself using "stroking" blows, ... rather than perpendicular "striking", ... and striking with the face of the Hammer at a variety of angles, rather than "flat", or "square" to the surface of the Anvil.

Tech without guidance is just information.