I Forge Iron

I have been looking for specif information about the experienced of blacksmiths who have experienced blisters. I have searched forums on a lot of sites and can't find anything regarding this specific...obstacle. 

I've been working at this art for the past 5 months. I have come gotten some nasty blisters. I have gotten a nice callus...that turned into a blister and ripped off a good chunk of my hammer swinger.

****I'm not complaining.****

it's obvious that it comes with the territory...but I am looking for a way to help, not only myself, but other people who may be in my position; to help them work through this in a manner that will help them find a desired condition of their increasingly important hands. ;)

I'm curious what experienced blacksmiths would say about this. I'm guessing the smart thing to do is to work in spurts at first. don't work through the pain and let your hands heal up before you get back to your forge. 

Any specific advise to add to this? :)

Many thanks to any attention this gets.

post-45285-0-17168800-1380725944_thumb.j

In the short-term:
If you're wearin a glove, take it off. If you're bare-handed, try a glove.

When you feel a 'hot spot' starting (before a blister forms), try putting a bandaid on that spot (the fabric ones with the 'strong' adhesive stay on a while longer than others).

Long term: you may need to re-shape your hammer handles, or adjust how you're gripping them.

If your hands sweat, you can try chalk (like climbers use).

Change your grip, the hammer sould lay in the center of your palm (between the muscle for the thumb and the pinkie. Pinch the handle between your thum and index finger ( not to tight on the way down) hold your other fingers progressively looser. When the hammer strikes the work, your palm sould be flat to the ground.
Second, sand off any varnish of the handle. Re shape the handle might be in order, your fingers should come close to touching your palm.