I Forge Iron

Finishing Up- tricks, tips and prefrences

While sifting through the thousands of posts around here, I've seen a few comments that the way you finish your piece is as important as how it's made in the first place, but I don't see much on the different ways to do this.
I'm looking for your tried and true experiences with different types of finishing, and the results each have given you.
What would you use on eating utensils or BBQ tools?
Is spray paint or clear coat the best option for general items? (hooks, candle holders, etc.)

Since i'm new to this any and all suggestions or tips are welcome!

Use an edible oil like olive, or crisco, or even pam spray on eating stuff, a word of caution the spray oils like pam are FLAMMABLE , and if you are not careful around the fire ... WHOOSH!! A flamethrower in your hand! for items that are not eating irons I like LAMP OIL heat the iron a little, apply oil heat again, but don't burn off the first coat . ,Heat again, oil , and wipe excess with a rag. Bees wax works too.

I use bees wax or just plain parifin wax. If you heat the peice over green coal smoke as you rub the wax on it, it takes on a real nice black sooty look to it. Then just hang to cool. If the wax gets a little thick, you can rub it with cloth or burlap and burnish it in. This is what I do for indoor gear. For food type stuff, I use a food type oil. Out door stuff, I'll either wax, knowing that it will rust, of break down and rattle can it.

I also like the Brass wire brush look too. I haven't quite nailed the right temp to brush at though. It is well below cherry red it seems and in the black heat color. OThers can probably give a better description. Not a very good pic but the hook on the right is brass rubbed. Left is shiny spray paint (yuck). These two are like the first things I ever made.

post-16782-0-99552900-1314363645_thumb.j