I Forge Iron

Forging copper with steel

Any one ever forge copper in with steel? I am thinking of 1/8th steel rod with a single 1/8th copper rod. create a braclet out of a damascus type forging. My son is getting maried and I am thinking of forging a very special gift for the bride and the mothers. Ain't I a sap!! LOL!!

copper can be fused with iron, just take a look around on this site, i have seen more than a few blades that have copper in them with iron, whether you call it welding or brazing matters not, the two will fuss together solid. This can prove to be difficult as copper has sure a lower melting point, but is posible

This is supposed to be fun so I seek the challenge. I am self taught as my work interfers way too much to attend any classes. Thanks for the insights and if anything works ... or even if it doesn't I will keep all up to date.

As they say, "I gotta try man!!!, It's in my blood man!!!"

I seem to remembe some ships used to made of steel plate fused or clad to copper plate on the outside, I may have details somewhere. I also know it is easy to tig weld copper directly to steel. I may be a little concerned about forging it though, the copper might be so much softer at steel forging temps that it may not work well. Do some homework on welding steel to copper and try it, Just be sure to let us know what happens,pics temps etc...
good luck
Rob

copper will readily fuse to steel. I've often used pieces of thick electrical wire as filler rods and an oxy acettylene torch to "apply" copper to the surface of steel to give a nice decorative effect. I've had sucess doing the same with stainless steel. I've never tried forging the combination afterwards but would be curious to hear of the results.