I Forge Iron

Which Torch to buy

1DaramG

I am an amateur knife maker and am looking to get in to a little bit of forging. I have made a bucket forge at home but am having trouble finding the right torch for the job. The torch is to fit in to the base of the bucket which is about 25mm wide and 50mm deep. Any advise on which torches would give me the best heat for forging wold be greatly appreciated as so far i am seeing torches that can achieve 1200 c but from what I have read I need to go as high as 1700. 

Many Thanks

Duncan

Welcome aboard, Duncan; glad to have you.

You don't say where you are in the world, although given your choice of metric units, I'm guessing somewhere outside the US. If you could give us a location, that can help us make recommendations based on what's available where you are.

Generally speaking, torches don't make good forge burners, but there are exceptions. If you could give us some photos of your forge along with details of its construction, we'll be happy to help with appropriatet advice.

A forge 25mm , 1inch across by 50mm, 2inches deep is so small I don't know of a torch or burner that would heat it practically. Sure I could use the small brazing tip of my oxy propane torch but it would melt the liner out of your forge in a couple minutes and take a serious chance of damaging an expensive torch tip. 

For stock that would fit in such a tiny forge I'd have to recommend you look into induction forges / heaters. 

Of course if you miss-typed MM instead of CM it's a completely different story. There are lots of burners that'll heat a 25cm x 50cm forge to welding temperature.

Frosty The Lucky.

A good place to begin your search for an appropriate air/fuel commercial torch would be English manufacturers; they have been making air/fuel torches and burners for a very long time. Otherwise, you'd best figure on building a burner.