I Forge Iron

New Member here…

stevenlynnhall

Howdy Folks,

My name is Steve. I’m BRAND NEW to forging and want to get into knife making (I know it almost is cliche but it’s mostly forged in fire that has sparked the fire).

I’m setting up a charcoal smithy that is open air using a pergola in my back yard. 
I live in Southwest Florida.

I would like to start with a question regarding an open air (outdoor) setup. Although I will be tarting the top eventually, I worry about my anvil and things getting rusty. Should I be? 

I also have a nice old post leg vice I will be setting up soon. 

my first “project” was to make tongs out of some rebar to get the hang of heating up and hitting metal…. In about 20-30 minutes I think I got like 4 inches of the rebar square just to practice. Is rebar always pretty hard to move or does it just look that much easier on tv? 

sure looking forward to reading tons of posts and seeing lots of knife pictures. 

thanks,

Steve481E66F1-1662-4D21-B2CF-46F9AAFE78CD.thumb.jpeg.fd563636ae1dfe40b8834edfc6059b37.jpeg9D273222-83ED-43FA-B068-14E71D33913A.thumb.jpeg.954835f0974de6874c0e1091c1bc7f8f.jpeg

Welcome aboard from 7500' and 28 degrees in SE Wyoming.  I hope that you find the craft as rewarding as I have for the last 44 years.  If you put your location in your profile it will stay there.  We won't recall it after we leave this thread.

Rebar is funny stuff, it can vary in consistency even in the same length and within a few inches.  This is because it is made by a continuous casting process from scrap metal and the metal can vary by what scrap went into that particular area of the bar.  So, it is not particularly good stuff for forging.  I rarely use it.

While it is better not to leave your anvil and forge and vise out in the weather you can protect them with paint or boiled linseed oil (BLO) to deter rust.