I Forge Iron

Cutting Granite

Chris C

I know most/many of you guys have done just about everything in the world, so I'll ask this question here.

I'm working on making sheaths for my knives.  In that quest I'm doing some leatherwork, i.e. stamping and tooling.  When I rebuilt my kitchen 7 years ago I had the countertop people leave behind the large slab they cut out of one of the tops for our glass-topped stove-top.  Wife durned near killed me for "hoarding" yet once again!  :D  I "knew" I'd need in someday.  Now is the time.  I need a granite slab to use when I'm stamping designs in my sheaths.  However, I don't need a piece as large as I have.  I checked to see what it would cost to cut out a piece from my material the size I need and it was $100 !!!!!  Not about to waste that kind of money.  I'll just buy a diamond blade for my Skil-saw and do it myself.  But I have no knowledge of diamond blades like that....................so I don't know which one (of the multitudes available) to buy.  If anyone has done this before, I'd appreciate a tip in the right direction to a blade that won't break the bank but will do the job.

Easy to do.................I've seen many on videos.  Besides, granite doesn't really require water.  Here ya go, Steve.  Just did a search and easy-peasy, this popped up.   It's the same method the countertop company used except they used a right-angle grinder.

OTOH, at the fleamarket in Canutillo TX, there was a fellow selling granite sink cut outs for under US$10; probably cheaper than buying a decent blade.  Can you check with a local countertop installer and see if they have anything similar?

Your big slab sounds like it would go good behind a wood stove as a heat storage device.

Canutillo is too many Klicks from my place, Thomas. :D  Countertop folks didn't have any drop offs that would work.  I just need to cut a piece out of mine.  Two short cuts is all I need.

My wood stove is incased in two layers of bricks, so I'm fixed there.