I Forge Iron

First punches

Hey all:

My latest forging session has me convinced that I need to make some tongs so that I can place shorter stock into my steel wheel charcoal forge. I'm a beginner, so my tongs will not be anything very big. Even if I use a large piece of stock and fashion both sides from a single bar, I still will need to make a hole for the rivet.

Right now, I do not have any punches, so I thought I would make one. What is a reasonable  rivet size for such tongs? 5/16"? 3/8"? 1/2"? I don't have rivets, so I will be making stock out of what I have. I guess I can drill out the rivet hole, but that would be missing an opportunity.

I just checked my scrap bucket and all I have besides mild steel is a few hex keys and a brick chisel or two.

I really need to find some high carbon stock somewhere.

Taylor

The size of the rivet depends on the size of the tongs.

If you want to make chisels, choose the size stock that matches the size chisel you need.  If you want the known steel with a known method of proper heat treatment, then purchase or order that type steel.  If you want to guess at the steel, and guess at the heat treatment, then put your hand into the scrap bucket and guess at the steel you want to grab.

Coil springs from automobiles and trucks will work for chisels. The heat treatment is still a guess, but you can come close or at least get an idea of what works.

Bottom line is dies it have to work ?  Are you going to sell the tool ?  If yes, then buy new steel with known heat treatment.  Personal use or practice or experimenting, then scrap works.  If it fails, then you can try again.

I usually use 5/16" round for rivets. You could use 1/4" as well, but if you size your boss accordingly, 5/16ths will suit most of your tong making needs small or large. Well, what one might consider to be large is somewhat relative.. The largest pair I have is for holding 1" sq. and those are pinned together using 5/16ths.