I Forge Iron

Newbie questions about hardening and tempering

Hello.

I'm Jimmy and I'm very new to blacksmithing. I've recently set up a workshop and started to forge a bit. I'm very intrested of making hammers and I've watched a ton of videos on YouTube about pretty much everything there is somethings I just can't make clear and I hope someone can make them clear for me today.

First off, Right now I'm making a hammer eye punch out of an old cross peen hammer I found out in the garage. It's an old hammer so I guess it's been hardened and tempered before, right? So, do I need to normalize it before forging it? And if I got the normalize part right, I heat it up to cherry red and then just let it cool by itself? Or can I just forge it without normalizing it? Alright, so when I get to the point where I've forged out the punch and all, to temper it I heat it up to red hot, then quenching it in water. Then to anneal(?) it, as it's very fragile at this point I heat up a drift and place the hammer head over that until I get like a violet color on both sides?

I hope to get some help here as the only Swedish forum Antracit.se seems to be completely dead for many years.

I'm planning to make my hammers with C45/SS 1672 steel to begin with

Thanks,

Sincerely.

Alright. I've read "Introduction to heat treating" and it doesn't answer my question about normalizing the old hammer before I forge it into a punch. But if I understand correctly, I don't need to normalize it? Or rather, It normalizes in between my heats while forging the piece. In that case I can just heat it up, forge it as I want > Harden it again > temper. Or am I wrong here? 

There may be a language barrier here.