I Forge Iron

Vice repair- advice needed

Jon Kerr

Hi all,

I picked up this vice cheap on eBay. Unfortunately the photos are old- its now been fully wire brushed, oiled and is ready to go except one problem... the jaws.

The vice has removeable jaws. I have no idea if this is a modification, old repair, or original. I doubt its original.

When I bought it, the jaws had bolts in (1 missing), but the vice was seized shut. Once I got it unseized and cleaned it turns out these bolts were in a bad way (they certainly werent holding the jaws in much!)- the threads are mostly ruined and one of the holes is actually mangled and diagonal- I cant see how it ever had a bolt in it. Really strange.

My question is- what would you guys do to repair it?

I've tried drilling the hole out and tapping but its too tough without serious gear. I had no joy trying to drill the mangled hole out clean.

Would you weld the jaws back on?

I have no experience welding but am about to purchase a stick welder and gegt a friend to teach me. Would that be an appropriate fix?

I'm really hesitant as I dont want to ruin a really nice old vice, but its sat useless for the past few months since I cleaned it and I desperately need a solution.

(27) New-Vice.jpg

(29) New-Vice3.jpg

• Replies 69
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Later vises did generally come with replaceable jaws.  That was standard on machine vises so they just carried it over to leg vises.  They have benefits in that you can use a hard flat, a hard checkered to really grab (and mar your part in most cases) or a soft brass to protect part surfaces.  

I'd personally replace them by fixing/tapping the screw holes..but I can't really see just how bad things are in the photos so don't know what you have to work with.