I Forge Iron

Newbie, Gasser, Forge Welding, Sweat, Frustration

Greetings friends! I am new to this and working hard to try and acquire some basic skills. I try and go out to the garage and do something every day, but this last week has been an exercise is frustration.  Let me cut to the chase: I am trying to make forge welded chain links and i just can't seem to get the weld to stick.  Relevant info:

Hell's forge 2 burner Propane forge

3/8" Mild Steel  "Weld Steel" from Lowe's

Iron mountain flux

Heating to bright yellow w/white edging

process: shape the link, scarf, heat again, flux, heat to bright yellow, fast light taps, flux, heat to bright yellow, taps refine weld, heat to bright yellow, further refine, go to flatten out the link a bit, watch "forge weld" come apart, feel bile rising up inside, stifle cursing, repeat until i go look online for help (what i found on here seems to match what i'm doing).  Am i missing something? I feel like i am close to burning the metal, it is getting that rough texture that wont wire brush off.  Please give me something else to try.  

for the record i usually make a hook or some small project i find online that does not involve welding before i try a new link so that i get some work in other areas, but man i just want to get this. 

For mild steel, heat to orange and wire brush by hand. Put it back into the fire and heat to high yellow or white, and watch for it to throw the first spark or two. Touch the two pieces together while they are in the fire, and if they stick to each other, it is at welding temperature and you have a weld.