I Forge Iron

DIY post vise.

671jungle

having a 3rd hand that can handle a beating is crucial. Since I am new to the fabrication world, instead of buying an antique (which would be super sweet!), I am going to build my own post vise. The plans are simple enough. Any advice from the Elders before I begin? I would also like to punch the holes for the screw instead of drilling. Speaking of screw, the one in the pic isn’t the chosen one. It is just a standard 1”. Will it work? And the tallest rail is about 21”.

CD18C7F4-CDC4-45ED-85CE-DFD14CE94EAF.jpeg

B2D5E05C-E733-4337-81DD-21D0617DC7B5.jpeg

How much experience do you have forging and welding on high carbon steels? (if you plan to use the rail.)

Do you have a forge and tools suitable to work on stock that size?

Do you have help?!

The finer the thread the slower the vise. (But a slow vise is better than no vise.)

Can you post the design or a link to it that you plan to use?

Interesting idea, but I"m guessing by the time you add up the consumables, utilities, materials, and your time (even at minimum wage) you will have enough into this project to pickup a good antique post vise.  A quick check on Craig's list has one for $300 in your area (which seems very dear to me, but location does matter).  Still bet you could bargain down to $250.  Good luck whichever path you take.

1 minute ago, ThomasPowers said:

How much experience do you have forging and welding on high carbon steels? (if you plan to use the rail.)

Not much! I intend on visiting some of the shops around here and make some friends.