I Forge Iron

Templates

I am a very new beginner to this art. Have completed a few "projects" with my very limited equipment. I am wondering if their are templates that can be printed off and used as a guide while making a project. Such as, if I want to make uniform s-hooks it would be nice to have a drawing where I could place my metal on to check the right curvature/length/etc. Is that a thing? If so, where would a fella get a hold of something like that?

Draw the hook you want to make and then make it!  As there is no one true S hook design a template would be a bit questionable. When I teach later this month I'll be showing a number of hooks I have forged and when the college students ask me "Is this right?" I'll say "If you like it it's wonderful!  If you don't like it, it's horribly horribly wrong!"

Now for historic bladesmithing, I have a copy of "Knives and Scabbards, Museum of London"  that has over 300 excavated blades, dated and shown in scale drawings.  When I replicated one of those I took the book and went to a good copy machine and blew up the drawing to actual size and used that.

If you want to make a lot of the same item you can cut out a thin sheetmetal template to compare to and file it away or mount it on the wall of the shop for "next time"

Welcome aboard Radioguy, glad to have you. If you'll put your general location in the header you might be surprised how many of the gang live within visiting distance. Get hooked up with the local smithing organization, every  hour you spend working with an experienced smith will teach you as much many times the time trying to figure it out yourself.

I don't know of any templates as such though I'm sure some are out there like for "rose petals, acorns, etc."