I Forge Iron

Forges 1st fire...the results

Total beginner, just finished my first forging session.  Pretty happy with the results, but what a humbling experience it was.  Forged the hook first, then the s hook out of 3/8 square....probably took me a little more than 2 hours to forge.  I don't think I was heating the metal up enough or was having to much surface contact with the anvil, was loosing my heat very quickly.  Also, had a xxxx of time trying to hold onto the piece doing the 2nd side with pliers, which marred up the metal, definitely have to work on coordination.  Any advice or critiques would be greatly appreciated.

IMG_0373.JPG

IMG_0409.JPG

Awesome.  All I can say is what I've learned the hard way:  Having the right tools to hold your work will make you better way faster than having a sweet hammer or anvil will.  Struggling with hot steel while trying to shape it is exasperating.  

You've made a good start. I still have my first "s" hook, it's an antique now! The best advise I ever received was to connect with a local blacksmith group, even if you have to expand "local" to several hours travel. I have learned most of what I know by my association with other smiths, and I bet there is someone in the group that will show you how to make tongs. With good tongs, things become way easier, and practice,practice, practice.

Al 

Nice job Chuck, well done! Those are darned long tapers, getting them smooth and even isn't easy and yours are very nice. The bends are even and well matched. I don't see anything to critique. A little practice and we'll be asking you for advice.