I Forge Iron

Mousehole 146 lb find

I have a friend who's a local picker and he called me up about an anvil yesterday, then sent me a couple of pictures.  He normally finds vises for me, but I told him to keep an eye out for any anvils. 

It's got some sway, some dents, some edge damage, but still has good rebound and ring.  Still, I think the edges should dress up pretty well, and the chips look worse from the side than the top.  I'm far from an expert, but thought that a light professional grind should clean up the face to make it a good user, and I know a couple of folks looking for their first anvil, so I'm going to give them a call.

As best I can tell, the markings are M&H, Armitage, Mousehole, Forge, 1.1.6, and 146lbs all on separate lines.  I need to clean it up and try some powder to get a better look at the markings.  A friend told me he believes the markings are likely 1870s give or take...pretty cool it was kicking around Detroit!

0535DE00-319E-4424-A5A7-1EE8C77D774F_zps

5F12EE66-9A66-478B-AB80-3CD3DAA244A0_zps

0AC20201-B9B9-4061-A015-943B6CA78BE2_zps

17F3BCB3-DAB9-4880-9848-087791C2DBC0_zps

DC050E96-67E6-4E1D-9EFE-67C488C95065_zps

That anvil is close to 150 years old. A light professional grind should clean up the face and could destroy the anvil. If you remove the patina, you will never be able to get it replaced in your lifetime.

ONLY use hot iron to clean up the face. A few hours getting to know each other and the face will shine.

There are many opinions on the site about how to "clean up" an anvil.  You can always modify the anvil later so wait a year before you do anything. You may want to do a little reading before you do something that can not be undone.

If you want to remove the rest, look up electrolysis on the forum. It removes the rest and not the metal.

28 minutes ago, G-ManBart said:

I'm far from an expert, but thought that a light professional grind should clean up the face to make it a good user