I Forge Iron

making an anvil

So this being my first post i figure id tell yall a thing or two about myself before getting in to it...

Ive been a machinist for about 12yrs.... shop class included(i know, it doesnt really count) where i did some minor smith work... in the past 6yrs ive been a welder then a welder and cnc machinist. 

And i know alot of people say "i know how to weld" then they procede to make a mess of the metal... but ive fabricated weldments holding massive amounts of weight overhead(like 1000+lbs)...

So over all im a above average welder, above average machinist, and a well below average smith... but on to important stuff

So does anyone know if anyone has tried to fabricate an anvil?

And if you have any pointers thatd be great.

Im also a big fan of making things that could be bought so i dont want everyone saying "just buy one" although that may be the route that i have to take. Im planning on using said anvil only for blade work so im thinking i dont need a horn. Which would be the hardest part for me to make.

welcome aboard. If you don't need a horn and your a machinist then you can probably find a way to get a block of 4140 or some other harder steel, radius the edges slightly, mount it to a stump and get forging. :) that's the easiest way to make one. 

Welcome aboard, glad to have you. If you'll put your general location in the header you might discover a LOT of Iforge folk live within visiting distance.

Yeah, lots of people have fabricated anvils, most pretty low quality in spite of high quality steel and expert weldments. How do you propose to get 100% penetration throughout? Any unfused stops energy rebound cold making a dead anvil no matter how heavy or good looking. It's an ASO.