I Forge Iron

Flat Belt Shop Shoes

These are the shoes I wear in the shop.  I've been making these for ten years now.  I make them larger for the winter so I can put several pairs of socks in them.  They double as my outdoor shoes, though I prefer moccasins in the woods, especially in the winter since they keep the snow out better.  These are about as close to a moccasin fit as I have found, but they look quite a bit more shoeish and not so alarming to folks who think you just have to wear boots in a shop.    

I used to wear moccasins in the shop, but the soles wear out too fast, so I began making shoes with soles out of remnants of the flat belting that drives the shop.  It makes a flexible sole, which lets me feel the treadle on the hammer for better control.  There's almost no heal, just a quarter inch, which lets me stand the way God intended instead of up on a perch, which kills the back and knees.  I first made these with no heal at all, but then the whole sole has to be replaced when the back end wears out.  With a small heal, I can pop it off and put another back on in no time.

A year and a half ago I decided I'd give commercial shoes a try again.  Shucks, I went to the chiropractor enough from those things I paid the price of those shoes six time over. So I'm back to my flat belt shop shoes, and the ones I bought are mouldering away unworn.  

I do not believe in steel toed shoes.  If your shoes are so clumsy you can't move your feet out of the way, you're gonna get hurt.  It's that simple.  Now if I were not able to move quickly, like with a health issue, I would consider wearing them, but a healthy person is just asking for injury with their feet sealed in a clumsy metal prison locked to the floor by gravity.   We don't wear steel gauntlets on our hands, do we?  And our hands are in far more dangerous places than our feet.  Our hands get out of the way, and so can our feet.