I Forge Iron

Brand new to smithing

Hello, I am brand new to smithing and I am excited to start the craft. I have a makeshift forge and i am in the process of building a anvil stand. (Pics of the forge below) I am looking for any tips/tricks that you guys/girls would be wiling to provide. I will post update pictures as I progress. 

12833348_10208976147990222_1777421889_n.jpg

The picture is a little confusing. It looks like a top view of a cast iron stove. Is that what it is?

I don't think it's suitable . You need to do a little research on how to build a simple forge, Either on Google or here on Iforgeiron.com  .

6 hours ago, dickb said:

The picture is a little confusing. It looks like a top view of a cast iron stove. Is that what it is?

I don't think it's suitable . You need to do a little research on how to build a simple forge, Either on Google or here on Iforgeiron.com  .

It is the top view of a cast iron stove, I planned on using the grate as a platform for my coals then have a blower underneath.

Welcome to the forum Newbie. For the amount of work  involved in converting the stove into a forge, you'd be better off building any of the simple forges described on these boards. The stove would make a great........stove! It's a good idea to put your location in your profile then those local to you may offer assistance along the way.

I've got a couple of them, here I thought they were used for heating, well guess I'll will advertise them on e-bay as antique forges in the rough!  Make lots of $$$.

All kidding aside I think  what the others above have said is correct don't take your time on something in all likely hood will not pan out  and get yourself a brake rotor or brake drum off a pickup and make it out of that, there are all sorts of Pics. on here for those.  You tube has a hundred videos showing how it's been done.  No need to reinvent the wheel. 

****update*****