I Forge Iron

Now this is a pine cone!

I found this pic., but there was no link to its origin, so please give my high praise to whomever created it!

I love using old items to make new art, this is amazing.

It says it was made entirely of old shovels.

image.jpg

On a side note, I've been coming to iforgeiron for a few years now, but never wandered to the section, what a fool I've been! There's no much more to read and inspire me! I love it...

I have a few old shovels in my scrap pile - but not THAT many! They suit the pine cones very well. Rust gives the right colour too. 

I have seen shovels used to make interesting ducks. The blade forms the wings and the handle part makes the neck.

So I was working on a spider and a deer skull, and spoted a fire extinguisher and another piece. Everything came together at once. So I cut the extinguisher and tapered down the opening then welded on the cap. A lil paint later.....funny enough the cats names are "left" frosty, "right" tippy. I named frosty before I knew ya Frosty :) 

image.jpg

image.jpg

image.jpg

image.jpg

image.jpg

Frosty's giving you the look you know. The look that says, "darned two legs, if I knew he was taking another picture I'd hike my leg and lick my butt special."

We have a gray tabby looks a lot like Frosty. I named her "Empress Damascus" she earned the title, "Bug's Bane."

Cool spider, almost as cool as the cats. (I gotta say that or Damascus will get me, they know you know, they do!)

Frosty The Lucky.

Yes, neat spider. That's one animal I haven't tried ... yet. I like how you've got those spinarets out the back end.

I notice you have some clutch forks there on the table. Put two of those face to face and you have a realistic crocodile head.

Good to see the safety glasses. Now, where's the respirator, Das? You've got some very fumy (is that a word?) metal there!

6 hours ago, Frosty said:

almost as cool as the cats. (I gotta say that or Damascus will get me, they know you know, they do!)