I Forge Iron

MIG Welding tips in Gas Burner?

JPVT

I've been using Michael Porter's Gas Burners for Forges, Furnaces, and Kilns as plans to build my gas forge and burner. The plans recommend I use a Tweco .030 or .035 inch MIG welding contact tip, 1-1/2-inch long. I have no experience with these parts, and have no idea what the importance is of the length, the taper, etc, and I've been unable to find this part anywhere. The drawings in my plans show a tapered MIG tip (shown in attachment), but I've had difficulty finding anyone who carries any contact tips with tapers. Most parts I've been able to find have a rounded end. 

Does the overall length of the MIG tip, the inside diameter, and the taper on the end affect performance? If not, I'll just buy one that I can find readily, and not have to go searching for this exact piece.

Screen Shot 2015-09-05 at 11.28.40.png

Edited by JPVT
Forgot the attachment!

If I didn't welcome you aboard earlier glad to have you here.

If you're going to use someone's plans then follow them as closely as possible. Mike Porter's burners work very well his type 4 is probably at the point of diminishing returns for tweaking the design.

One of his main design philosophies emphasizes a laminar air fuel flow in the tube so all his burner features are intended to enhance laminar flow. The tapered mig tip is to reduce or eliminate cavitation where the air flow moves over the blunt tip.

A welding supply should carry tapered tips, call and ask. This is exactly the situation where going to a web site fails, a human voice on the other end can figure out what you want even if you aren't clear about what you're asking for.

Just ask for tapered mig Contact tips, putting "contact" in the name will help eliminate confusion.