I Forge Iron

Name that wrecked self contained

Out of curiosity can anyone identify from the few remaining clues who made this power hammer? It appears to have been a self contained unit but I’m far from an expert on power hammers. This is in an old railroad repair facility which once had dozens of steam hammers but at the end this was all that remained at a single forge station in another part of the complex. The company broke things up with brutal efficiency when scrapping out the property. Interestingly they left behind this large low ironworking table. Not really a swage block – not really a stake table. I’m guessing that the various holes were designed for bending and punching.

post-7380-0-83080200-1388948521_thumb.jp

post-7380-0-50393000-1388948547_thumb.jp

post-7380-0-07890900-1388948577_thumb.jp

post-7380-0-04754300-1388948632_thumb.jp

post-7380-0-15394500-1388948698_thumb.jp

post-7380-0-66679700-1388948746_thumb.jp

Humphrey,

Its ironic how an industry that was capable of making all manner of useful tooling, orchestrating an unrivaled industrial revolution and winning two World Wars of gruesome proportion was in the end sold out by the next generation for its scrap value.  I'm reminded of the quote from the movie Wall Street, "greed is good", truly a sad commentary.

Peter

Peter – I agree on the one hand but on the other we’ve lost so many interesting industries and buildings to “progress” since the beginning of the industrial revolution – these shops are the exception in that they are clinging to life unlike all else which has been cleared away with hardly a clue to prove that they ever existed. These shops were built at the height of steam railroading when railroads dominated commercial and civilian commerce throughout the land. They are far too large and inefficient for today’s pared back railroad industry. I shudder to think what the yearly heating bill would be at today’s energy costs.