I Forge Iron

North vs South German Design-Pros and Cons

• Replies 52
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Side shelves are like pockets on shirts, you either love them and use them all the time, and then miss them when they are not available; or hate them because they are always in your way.  Several noted smiths have gone so far as to weld them on to their shop anvils. Personal preference, try it you might like it.

I've been using a Fontanini anvil for a few years. Steve blended a few ideas based on the Continental two horned anvil. It has a side shelf, but the upsetting block is not on that same side. It is on the near side, if you're working with the rounding horn to your left. Steve's horn has a little belly to it, London/American style, not so much straight-sided conical. My 250# anvil, when new, had a 5/16" thick end on the side shelf. My journeyman helper and I turned the anvil upside down and disc sanded the shelf leaving half with a 1/16" radius and half of it, sharp. I use it that way on hot splits, for instance drawing fork tines. If the side shelf gets in the way, I work from the other side of the anvil. The hardy hole placement give solidity to one's bottom tools.

I used a 250# Trenton for over 35 years, and it is now a student anvil. I still like the Trenton, but I wanted to try the two horned pattern.. Face it; I like 'em all.

• 1 month later...