I Forge Iron

concerns about black spit/phlem

Guiltyspark

I have been smithing for a week or two with charcoal and i have noticed that my spit/phlem is turning black. (and nose crust)

I every time i "spit a loogie" its dark black and im pretty sure its because of the work im doing.

What i dont understand is how this is possible so soon? Im doing my work outside and there is plenty of ventilation....

I think im going to get a gas forge if this keeps up

I have been smithing for about a month now, only using coal. I had some initial concerns, and like "symptoms", as well. I found that, at best it would last for a few hours the next day after I woke up in the AM. Also, I noticed that, being a newbie, I was "hovering" over the forge and constantly looking at the metal, fussing with the coal, ect. As I started to get a feel for how long to leave a piece of a given size in the fire to get it up to temp, started learning proper fire management and learned to keep my coal damp to keep the dust down, I have been having less and less problems. Im sure it is almost entirely due to coal dust, unless you end up downwind of the forge for an extended period, then I would imagine that you would get some problems from smoke, ect. Also, breath through your nose when right over the forge, those pesky little nose hairs actually due serve a purpose (helps filter out the particulates). YMMV

You can smoke - just do not inhale.

The added color to spit, mucus, and other things is the bodies way of trying to rid itself of contaminates that you have introduced into the system. If you can see it, smell it, or taste it, then it is not the clean air you want to breathe. It has other stuff in it.