I Forge Iron

Forge welding - how to

Good demo! I always thought sparks meant you were too hot? I know for true wrought you need a higher heat, but do you really want sparks flying off your iron when you weld? Apparently it works for Simon so i guess i am talking about a moot point. Thanks for the post.
Brian

Great video! Wish I'd seen it sooner! I just started playing around with forge welding. Once you get the timing down it's just a matter of sticking with it. No pun intended. Two out of three welds done this way have worked well for me! Remember to wait a moment after the sparks start. I think that's what went wrong my second time.

WARNING HUGE IMAGES

This is my third:
post-19492-0-42411800-1306107615_thumb.j
post-19492-0-21175000-1306106527_thumb.j
post-19492-0-52924300-1306106679_thumb.j
post-19492-0-63098600-1306106874_thumb.j
post-19492-0-84354800-1306107031_thumb.j
post-19492-0-73047900-1306107346_thumb.j

My first forge welding project:
post-19492-0-63002100-1306105938_thumb.j
post-19492-0-32816900-1306107749_thumb.j

Thanks for sharing and giving me an opportunity to project my project progress with the community. -Greg D. Price

My understanding is that British smiths typically don't use flux. Personally, I would think that it would be better for beginners to use flux, perhaps moving on to not using flux, if desired, once they are more proficient. The more things working in your favour the better, at least while learning.

I guess I am using the wrong style hammer to get good forge welds. I should switch to a ball pein hammer. (grin)

I've been meaning to add a heavier ball pein to my collection. Would the impact centered better squirt out the impurities like flux than a flat faced hammer?.