I Forge Iron

How did you make a buisness out of blacksmithing?

What got the ball rolling for you?

I love metal smithing and I intend to make it my main source of income.
I am 17, I have been forging for four years. No teacher, self taught, but will be taking some classes from John Campbell this fall.

Right now I do the craft fair rounds and make money fairly there, but that is only seasonal.

What I want to know is, what realy turned this from a backyard hobby into a full time family supporting business for you?
How do you advertise to gain larger jobs? When someone comes to you, as a first client that wants railing, how do you show that you can make good railing? All you have to show is drawings!
Here is my plan! I am applying to have my wares sold at the Berea Ky. artisan center. The committee seem very pleased with my items, but they can't work with anyone under the age of 18. I do believe they will accept my application after I turn 18. They will buy items directly from me for resale.

I am also trying to make some larger items - fireplace screens, pot racks, and a small railing for our porch - to use as photo props. After I complete several of these I intend to submit my work to several log home dealers here. Heritage, Lincoln, and a couple local based ones as well. I am hoping that these log home dealers will use me as a source for their local clients.

What I want to know is, what was your battle plan? How did you get the ball rolling? Is this a good strategy or should I go another route? What do you make the most of? What is your "cash crop," so to speak?

Thanks guys!
I'm at the point now where I am thinking a lot about saving money to have to purchase land, build a home, and provide for my own family in the future. (Well you see I met this re.....ehhhh forget it! ;) Just kidding! Meating "someone" didn't spark these thoughts, and I don't have a girl friend!!!)