I Forge Iron

Help with first anvil

Hello, 

I have been interested in black smithing for some time. I plan on putting together a shop soon. From what I have read here all anvils are not equal. What should I be looking for when searching around for mine? I have seen a bunch on Craigslist but don't really know what is a good deal and what is overpriced. Should I only be looking for carbon steel, are all anvils some percent carbon steel? Is there an easy way to tell, by manufacturer maybe. Should I start with a railroad anvil, I can get a 18" one for $50 on CL. Is that a good deal? A guy is selling a Vulcan for $170 near me, I have read they are bottom rung though. Would that be a good entry level anvil? Another guy is selling all of these for $275 . Hotlink  to craigslist removed  Would it be worth keeping the large one and selling the others? Total noob here, just need some info so I don't start off making a mistake. 

Thanks, Patrick

Craigslist link removed because IFI does not get any funds from the sale of said item for advertising here

Patrick how would YOU tell if an anvil was high carbon steel or not?  If you expect the seller to A know and B not mislead you, I can sell you a large bridge in Brooklyn for a very reasonable price indeed!  What you should look for is an anvil made by a reputable manufacturer and check it for delamination and softening of the face due to fire. It really helps if you can get a smith local to you to vet any anvil you are looking at; Not knowing where you are limits the folks who can volunteer.

I consider US$50 for a 18" piece of rail to be over priced by about a factor of 5 to 10; of course in the last year I gave a 5' section to a starting smith for free...