I Forge Iron

Forging channel locks?

Leeknivek

Hi. I'm just getting started in blacksmithing and trying to get my foot in the door. I have a small, 40# stretch of railroad track and a brake drum-inside-a-55-gallon-drum forge. (Almost, at least. I just need to hook up a blower).

I don't have much for tools - an assortment of four hammers, three cross peins and one ball pein. The largest being about 2 pounds. I do not have any tongs, however, and I was looking to make some. I have a very limited experience in metalwork, only doing odd jobs in sheet metal, welding, and a little but of cold cutting. Not very much forming or forging, but I'm a fast and dedicated learner.

Now, in any circumstance where I needed more grip and leverage than human hands could provide, I've always preferred to use channel locks, seconded by slip joint pliers - or a combination of the two. I don't like vice grips, and I don't know if there's a lot of practicality in having 100 different tongs for 100 different operations that may rarely be used. I do not say this offensively, rather I say it objectively as looking at it from an outside perspective. I like tools as much as anyone else, but it's a hassle searching for the right tool already as it is. I'd like to make it simple.

I read through a thread on here before posting this - a new member asking about galv. Steel channel locks who was told he was bound to hurt himself and that they are no good. I'm hoping the same won't happen to me.

I was thinking something along the lines of regular, typical, ordinary blacksmiths tongs. Simple and effective, yet with the added advantage of being able to adjust jaw width. So, something with a regular jaw, for now - ie: suited flat-, square- or round-stock holding. - with the tongue-and-groove portion of channel locks, allowing them to be adjusted so you have tongs for 1/4" up to 1", instead of 1/4", 3/8", 1/2", 5/8", etc.....