I Forge Iron

Leather Apron

I wear an cheap leather apron from HF when forging. Saves my clothes and I can throw it away if it ever wears out without feeling it in my bank account! :cool:
I think I payed less than ten bucks on it and I've been using it now for about 4-5 months with no issues. I did wash some of the yellow dye out of it and let it air dry in the sun before putting it on for the first time. (saved my shirts and pants from that yellow staining that never seems to go away ;) )
If you want to save some cash, try the leather welders apron at HF. If you want one that will last for more than a year or two, I would save up and get the best one you can find.
That's just my take on it.
Good luck and stay safe :)

Hi Vic, go for the welders apron it should give you good service, they are easy and light to wear, and will give you adequate protection.

The more expensive leather aprons can be rather stiff and awkward to wear especially if you are bending over a fair bit

I wondered how I could get that yellowness out of it other than through wear and sweat! I too use the HF weldor's apron. I paid $10 and it came with the apron, elbow length gloves, and a leather pouch for holding rods. I haven't found a use for the pouch yet. NOS is right though, that yellow dye will ruin clothing and the leather also leaves little leather fuzz balls all over everything. I never thought to wash it. (slaps forehead)
Mickey

I got a denim apron from amazon it has tons of pockets and split leg. If you don't like the pockets that are down low because of the potential for hot falling into them you can always sew them up but xxxx they are handy, and i've never had a problem with anything falling into them yet as they are very close to you. The reason I like the rockland one is because it rests on your shoulders and is so comfortable to wear I don't know I have it on. Of course it's more of an all round apron it's not the apron of choice for foundry work or nothing lol..