I Forge Iron

Help ID anvil

1 hour ago, leonel p. said:

Hey, I'm new to this so can someone please help

Howdy from eastern Oklahoma and welcome to the forum!!!

Used anvil prices vary greatly on location, some places you’d be lucky to get $2 a pound, and other places it’s a bargin at $5 a pound,

and the second thing is condition, if it’s crisp sharp never been used it’s worth more, if it’s missing half the face it’s worth scrap price, 

Blacksmiths are looking for a tool to use and won’t pay more for used then they can buy it new but antique collectors will pay a stupid amount if it’s something they want,

so it’s kinda hard to help you out with your question without knowing where your located and see a few pictures of the anvil in question 

Welcome from the Ozark mountains.

Like Thomas said, put it on a bathroom scale for an accurate weight. As far as I know Vulcan anvils had the year and weight cast into the base. However the weight was in 100 pound increments. Mine has a 10 cast into it which indicates 100 lbs or more mine weighs 110 lb 20 would indicate 200 lbs or more 30 300 lbs or more and so on. The other number cast into them was the year of mfg. Mine has a 43 on the opposite side of the weight so it was made in 1943. However I don't think Vulcan made anvils in 1863 or 1963 so I would bet the 63 is the weight. As far as how much it would go for is dependent on where in the world it is located in and condition.

PS: To upload pictures while in the editor you will see a "paper clip with Drag files here to attach, or choose files." That is where you get the pictures from your device (computer or phone).

To follow up on Irondragon's help for uploading pics, make sure the size isn't huge. Like, pictures I take on my phone are almost always too large so I have to send to myself in FB Messenger (FB will automatically reduce image size), then save the image from there and post that.

2 hours ago, TWISTEDWILLOW said: