I Forge Iron

New to this side of Metalwork

Jewelersmith

This is Steve Gridley from Maryland.  I’ve been a jeweler since the 70s and have a farming background and some hot shoeing back in the day.  My dad and I did a lot of metalwork repairs and he passed on a good mechanical background and taught me how to make or fix just about anything.  Professionally I’m an environmental geoscientist and geologist.  Worked a good many years in oil and gas drilling and completions and still consult with government agencies and in the private sector.  I just ventured into DC TIG for repairing antique jewelry and thought I’d try some metal pounding when the “new” old anvil that just came my way (still need a few things).  I buy and sell metal and have some sterling scrap I was thinking of working. So for this I’m a beginner again. But that can be fun and entertaining. Looking forward to sharing what I can from my odd background.

Welcome aboard from 7500' in SE Wyoming.  Glad to have you.