I Forge Iron

Good Morning

dwight55

Just wanted to take a moment to say Hello . . . introduce myself . . . name is Dwight . . . I am a pastor, veteran, and am setting my sights on "playing" with some steel . . . making some small things for friends . . .  and maybe one day . . . taking some to a local craft show.

At 77 yrs old . . . my Dr and friends and especially my cardiologist keep pushing me to get a bicycle . . . go swimming . . . go walking . . .  or play golf.

Just ain't gonna do it.  

Figured I'd do like my grandfather did . . . play out in the shop until the Lord says come home.  He did alright . . .  so I think I'll try it.

My equipment so far is a home made  forge patterned after this one  . . .  my anvil is like his . . . same blower type . . . but when I get done getting it installed . . . it will be in the shop . . . inside a building . . . and out of the Ohio winter weather.

Again . . . Hello all . . . may God bless,

Dwight

Howdy; central Ohio is certainly a great place to get involved in smithing!  Have you met up with the folks at SOFA yet?  I lived in Columbus Ohio for 15 years and used to carpool to Sofa meetings and tried never to miss a Quad-State Blacksmith's Round-Up.

Keep an eye open for Macabee Metals in Columbus OH, He's an old friend of mine who's a professional smith and teaching classes in Central Ohio!

Your forge seems a bit off.  A deeper firepot and a pass through to be able to heat the middle of longer pieces would help a lot.  BTW is that anthracite coal?   Blacksmithing is easier with good bituminous coal; I used to get mine through SOFA or Pocahontas or Sewell Seam coal from the east coast, (bought them at Quad-State).