I Forge Iron

Acquired and am restoring an old William Foster Stake Anvil or Bickern, looking for advice

Hello everyone, this is my first time posting here. I'm very new to blacksmithing and am looking for some advice on fixing up this old stake anvil.

I just recently picked up this old William Foster stake anvil for $100! It was pretty rusted when I got it, I've been trying to clean it up. I soaked it in a vinegar/water solution and scrubbed away with a wire brush and a some coarse steel wool. I got most of the rust off, but now I've gotten through some of the patina down to bare metal in spots. I am hoping to keep as much patina as I can, but there is still rust in some of the deeper pits. I wanted to ask for everyone's advice on how to proceed. From what I've been able to figure out I know William Foster anvils were forged in the early to mid 1800's, and I don;t want to damage it. Which brings up my second question. The face is pretty pitted from the rust, should I sand it and make it a more usable tool again? Or should this be left alone as a collectors piece? I've attached some photos below of how it came to me, and how it's looking now.

Thanks in advance for your help!

-Russell

IMG_20210902_105809787_HDR.thumb.jpg.fc59172c09ae4d1304b51837bee2c6fa.jpgIMG_20210903_112752304_HDR.thumb.jpg.a1d08a7a2a675707a155eeb07e46065c.jpg

IMG_20210903_112806792_HDR.thumb.jpg.47ab15554903f6985344ffa9918e2648.jpg1470196262_IMG_20210903_1129207254.thumb.jpg.7c682feacf6b732b8d95c63cf838c261.jpg

2 minutes ago, ThomasPowers said:

Does it have a date stamp anywhere on it?  WF dated their anvils.

I saw that when looking around for info on them, I couldn't find one anywhere on it unfortunately. The makers mark and crown are pretty worn, maybe the date got lost in the rust somewhere?