I Forge Iron

Sail Ho!

Chenier

Hi everyone!

I've spent the last couple of years building a small sailboat in my garage. It's a Sunfish-like critter (aka: Clonefish) made of wood, epoxy & varnish. The hull is done, now it needs hardware. For this boat all the hardware will be bronze. They don't make much bronze hardware for small boats any more so I'll be beating bronze rod, bars and plate into submission.

My background? I'm a retired software guy who appreciates the opportunity to do something besides stare at a screen all day. I've about ten years experience in my rudimentary home machine shop. Back in 2019, when we could do such things, I took a one-day course in blacksmithing and a one-week course in "Metalworking for Boatbuilders."

Right now the smithy is a Larry Zoeller burner and a NC Tools anvil. That's enough to get small bronze bits the dull red that I need and hit on them. Once the boat is sailing I have a few chores around the house that could use some smithing and will probably make myself a small forge.

• Replies 57
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Chenier:  As you probably know, the real trick to forging bronze is not to let it get too hot.  You cannot use color to judge forging temperature like you can with steel.  Copper based metals like bronze just get dull red and then melt.  When I forge bronze I measure the amount of time the metal is in the heat source.  If I am using a coal forge I count the number of turns of the crank, e.g. 2.5 turns is enough for this size metal.  If I'm using my propane forge I let it come up to temperature and then count to myself, e.g. one one thousand, two one thousand, etc..  You'll probably have some failures as you balance time and how soft the metal is.