I Forge Iron

problem with forge. Welding temp

Mikishelby

hello. I am wondering if anyone can help me with setting up to welding temp. The forge is running but tried to weld with it and its not happening. Im new to forging so tepms all a problem for me but I tried to blast the forge to 4 bars of gas and still did not weld the piece. Home made burners with 0.8 mig tip in them. The last pictures of the forege are at 2psi and last ones at 1psi of gas

20201004_123721.jpg

20201004_123707.jpg

20200925_145522.jpg

20200924_160755.jpg

20200923_171720.jpg

16036324458163990726576521496285.jpg

16036325099161084819736142737259.jpg

16036325377095636549903962199561.jpg

1603632656585310141591309249830.jpg

16036326844223767964812227180485.jpg

insulation all around with ceramic blanket and bottom soft fire fricks. There is picture from when i fist made the forge since then I added ceramic blanket to smaller the volume but i have tried today welding mild steel and no luck . 

16036329532092091127197320526280.jpg

It does not take long to heat up steel to orange temp. Maybe just over 2 min. 

16036332968655208146988572773854.jpg

• Replies 88
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

4 hours ago, Mikishelby said:

hello. I am wondering if anyone can help me with setting up to welding temp.

to begin with, there is a lot to admire about your forge, and shop. Your choice of shell was all around smart. So was your choice in fuel hose.

Three improvements that will raise forge temperature are:

(1) reverse its front and back ends, so that those burners rest deeper in the forge.

(2) Put a flame coating on its inside, so that it can help the burners raise temperature by doing a much better job of re-emitting radiant energy, and then help protect the ceramic fiber insulation from direct contact with the increased heat.

(3) After you have done steps one and two--not before--we need to help you retool those burners; they are heavily reducing.