I Forge Iron

What it means to be a "Certified Welder"?

Hey everyone, 
This is my first time here, and I hope I am posting this in the right forum. I have asked this in a few other forums too, and I hope I can find some answers here. I am having doubts about what it means to be a certified welder. I thought of starting a small welding business and would like to get certified in welding. I did some research online, and asked a welding instructor, what a welding certification was. He explained a few welding coursers I could get certified in and told me that I could get certified in specific processes, at a particular position, on a certain thickness, etc. I searched through the AWS and CWB website and found that if I get certified, I can be a certified welding inspector and a few other things. Still, I couldn't find anything specifically about being a certified welder. I can't quite figure out what I'm missing.

Could you guys help me out here? Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

When I am looking at credentials, I am typically only concerned with whether a welder is qualified (not certified) -- for the process(es), position(s), metal group(s), thickness(es), etc., for the task(s) to be worked and per the specification(s) in the contract and/or drawing.  Of course, I've always worked in a niche field, and may not have experience in what you want to accomplish. 

What credentials you need for a welding business will depend on what sort of welding you intend to perform, who you will be welding for, and where you intend to perform that welding. These three detail will help you to identify any laws, regulations, or typical contract terms associated with those welding applications, for your customers, and for your location. Like everything else in welding, the right answer here depends on the details of your specific situation. 

There are 1000s of different certs. Around here a test is administered by an engineering firm.