I Forge Iron

Basic file care question

Hopefully I put this in the correct sub-forum.

I live in NW GA and while we are blessed with 4 actual season, spring and summer can be pretty intense in terms of humidity. My shop is enclosed, but it is not and nor will ever be at the point where I can have climate control.

I am somewhat new to treating files as anything more than an occasional use tool and am still learning. (The horror…. I know) I understand about most basic care at this point (carding, chalking, acid bath sharpening) and in particular not storing them stacked or on a wood surface in a humid shop. However, there is one area I am unclear about:

From my broader reading, I have gotten conflicting information about rust prevention and was hoping for some clarity. On iforgeiron, I have seen multiple brief mentions about lightly oiling files to prevent rusting. On the other hand, I have also seen elsewhere people mention that oiling can lead to files more rapidly clogging while in use.

My simple question is whether I should be oiling files after use, and if so what would be a decent product to utilize?

Mr. P. N. K.,

Using oil for rust prevention for files is the usual method that people use.

Mr. Dragon's suggestion of wrapping them is rust prevention paper is a very good idea.

Let me suggest two other other methods, that are cheaper and less messy than oil.

Biologists,  and especially microscopists , located in tropical climates save their preserved slides from fungus contamination and destruction by storing the slides in 

a closed (sealed) container filled to the top with 100% alcohol.  Fungi and oxygen are thus kept out.

The files will do fine in alcohol and taking them out and wiping them off or evaporate is all you need to use them.

Another method that wood workers use for expensive tools (like planes etc.) is to place them in a closed container with a small amount of camphor placed inside.