I Forge Iron

Why is rebound important?

A lot of articles on blacksmithing emphasize the importance of rebound when determining the quality of an anvil.  I believe the idea is that this somehow makes the metal move more easily by resisting the force of the hammer blow from the underside.  Please correct me if I am wrong about that.  Given that we are hitting hot metal which has next to no rebound, I am not quite sure I see the point.  It seems to me that mass under the hammer and securely fastening makes more difference.  That said, I am not a professional smith and have only a tiny fraction of the experience of some of those here.  Can you please enlighten me?

Thanks, 

Rob

• Replies 61
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Pretty good question Rob, I like understanding what's going on even if I am taking it on faith. 

Rebound is a shortening of the term Elastic Rebound as it applies to an anvil. Any impact causes a compression (sound) wave that travels through the anvil at the speed of sound for the given alloy. Cast iron tends to be self damping because of the large carbide particles where uniform iron or steel presents a uniform material compression waves can conduct through. While your hammer is decelerating on the hot iron the compression wave travels at the speed of sound to the far side, rebounds and travels back. For an anvil say 12" from face to foot a couple microseconds . . . maybe. 

So while the hammer is still decelerating pressing the hot iron/steel against the anvil the compression wave generated by the hammer's blow returns and impacts the bottom of the work. The hammer blow is literally striking from top and bottom. 

It's not magic even if it does seem like some sort of hoodoo BS but it is a significant force multiplier. 

Frosty The Lucky.