I Forge Iron

Re heat treat old half hatchet?

So I got this old half hatchet recently. It is marked "R. King Cast Steel Made in United States."
A quick wire wheel de-rust, flatten the back a bit, new handle from a honey locust tree. Then filed the bevel. It filed very easily, too easily. Sharpened it up a bit on the stone, and tried it out. The edge rolled over pretty easily confirming my suspicions that the steel is too soft.

Now, I've done a bit of blacksmithing recently (still a total newbie), and am wondering if it is worth pulling off the handle and re-heat treating this? Anyone have experience with this? I'd bring just the blade edge up to non-magnetic heat, then try oil quench first, then water quench if it didn't harden enough. Then temper it in the oven (I have a great wife). I suppose since the tool doesn't hold an edge well now, there's really nothing to loose if I'm careful and don't burn it up.

DSCN4426.thumb.jpg.6ca941abf0193f7cffe1da74665b6c0f.jpg

DSCN4464.thumb.jpg.155e61d6ff507f9771934aaec78a295c.jpg

Don't know that without you telling us---Al foil hat must be working.  Did you flip the blade around when rehafting?  And if so did the eye support that? (Bevel side up to the left in first picture and bevel side up to the right in the second picture.) Some eyes have an even hourglass and others have a biased hourglass.

Anyway go for it!  

1 hour ago, Cleave said:

should I normalize 3x before heat treat or take it straight to heat treat?

Normalization IS a kind of heat treatment; I assume you mean "harden and temper", yes?

Annealing wouldn't be necessary, as you don't need it dead soft for filing or grinding. You might want to do the triple normalization (bring to critical, air-cool, repeat) to ensure that the grain size is good (annealing can increase the grain size, and therefore should not be done after normalizing), then harden and temper.