I Forge Iron

TIG OR MIG the age old question help please

hobb0042

Hi all i am a hobbyist blacksmith / sheet metal worker and i mostly do small decorative items for households and gardens, gifts for friends and family etc. i was until recently a car mechanic by trade with MIG and ARC welding experience. Its a little off topic and not so much blacksmithing as sheet metal work. My old mig welder died and i am looking to replace with either a MIG or TIG welder, i  work with sheet metal no thicker than 5mm and would like to expand from steel into copper and stainless. do you think it would be worth purchasing a TIG welder over MIG. it would be a whole new learning process but i am not one to shy away from a challenge. I would interested to hear your thoughts and recommendations and experiences guys thanks a lot

sorry posted in wrong section now ive added to the welding section of this site apologies

Hello Hobb,

I love my TIG welder. Its ability to join base metals with little or no filler material makes it more useful to me in my work. TIG welding is very similar to oxy-acetylene gas welding, melt your base metals then feed your rod and move the puddle forward. I feel TIG gives you greater heat control for all levels of base material thickness. MIG is quick and easy but almost always needs more grinding to blend the weld. With MIG your wire speed and amperage has to be in balance which always leads to a larger bead on the surface at least for me. 

I have found that with practice I now prefer my TIG welder for almost all of my welding needs. 

Just me 2 cent.

Have a great day,

W

TIG has the advantage of switching from aluminum, to stainless, to steel, to magnesium very quickly. Change the high frequency start switch, swap out the tungsten, and the filler rod. Easy peasy.  TIG units also double as stick welders.