I Forge Iron

How much strength should I expect from a forge weld?

Good Evening,

I just started practicing forge welds and so far have been successful.  At least in getting the metal to stick and actually be welded.  My concern is that while it was definitely welded, the weld didn't seem as strong as I expected.  I practiced with a faggot weld (i think this is the right team for this) and checked its strength by severing the bend, putting it into a vice and trying to separate it.  I wasn't able to do this by hand, but it didn't take much to get the weld apart with a hammer and chisel.  I expected more.  The metal where it was welded looked very clean; almost shiny.

The details of the weld:

I used 1/4"x1 A36 hot rolled, folded the steal over to make a tear drop shape (about 1"x1-1/2" of surface area for the weld)  20 mule team borax and a chile forge 2 burner at about 19 psi (20 is max recommended).

Should the weld be nearly as strong as the parent material?  Or is this a typical amount of strength for a forge weld with low carbon steel?  I expected more because I wouldn't trust what I experienced to hold on a pair of tongs using a drop tong method, so I am guessing i did something wrong or incomplete with my test weld.

1 hour ago, Steve Sells said:

a proper forge weld is as strong as the parent metal because its fully fused

This is what I was under the impression of as well.

1 hour ago, Irondragon Forge & Clay said:

Probably didn't soak the stock long enough to get the deep penetration of the weld. As others said it should be as strong as the parent steel. Could you see a line where the two were joined?

Yes, there was a visible line.  It is quite likely it didn't soak long enough.  I got the piece to the same color as the forge but didn't wait much after that.  So the surface may have been ready to weld but not internally.

At least I have an idea now what to improve on.  Thanks guys!