I Forge Iron

Newbie Garden Shed Shop

Hi all,

I'm trying to see if I can design a space that will let me do a little of basic smithing in the winter. I've got a 168 sq ft wood frame/wooden shed. Unfortunately the floor is also wood. It's similar to this. Average height ceilings and two front facing windows with double doors. Assuming I could work out proper ventilation (there's none at the moment),  is it a completely horrible idea to try to use this space for forging in the winter? I'm currently outdoors using anthracite coal in a forge similar to this (forge in center, not the one in the back) with a anvil that's a piece of rail standing on its end. I'm still pretty new at this, so I don't want to get hurt or burn my building down. Do you all have any recommendations? I'll try to get some actual pictures and measurements when the sun comes back up.

A wood floor doesn't seem like the best idea. I drop hot metal occasionally and sparks fly. I'm sure there's a way to mitigate the hazard but I need to think about it for a bit. Hopefully someone else will know before I can get back to you.

Pnut

Fire resistant concrete backer board on the floor around the forge and anvil might work. I don't know how durable it would be. 

Edited by pnut

4 hours ago, pnut said:

I drop hot metal occasionally

Occasionally? I do a lot of drop forging my self. 

Before i moved i was forging outside. I was thinking of a shed to put up to work out of. My plan was to get some sheet metal to put on the walls to act as a heat shield. If you have a good hood and ventilation you should not need anything on the ceiling but better safe than sorry in my opinion. 

What has the shed been used for? Storing the lawn mower, tiller, weed wacker, etc.? If so have they leaked any fuel or oil? If so, those spots have soaked into the wood and will be more prone to combustion than the areas that are free of contaminates.